PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Router Recommendations

Colt Seavers
05-04-2010, 10:38 AM
I have a total newbie question. I just started getting into woodworking. I wanted to know what should I look for in a router and/or router table. I've been reading around and doing my research but I wanted to get some feedback from people in the field. I know I need a router that can hold 1/2" shank bits. Any recommends or information is greatly appreciated.

Prashun Patel
05-04-2010, 10:55 AM
Depends what you want to spend. Routers appear to be like drill/drivers. Everyone swears their's is the absolute best.

That being said, there are 2 I'd recommend w/o hesitation:

Bosch 1617. The only prob with this is it doesn't follow the Porter Cable standard, which means you have to get Bosch or custom aftermarket accessories like plates and bushings.

Milwaukee 5615. This is an excellent budget router. Can be had for $100 on sale (watch Amazon) and includes both the plunge and fixed bases.

The Porter Cable (I think 693) is also a standard bearer, but I've not used it.

Whatever you get, get a combination pkg with fixed and plunge bases. You can permanently mount the fixed base in yr table.

As far as tables go, you might consider getting a $99 portable one from Rockler or the like. I used mine for quite a while while getting my router legs, and it really helped me figure out what I want out of a 'real' table (e.g., fences, inserts, lifts, tracks, dust collection, etc.)

Neal Clayton
05-04-2010, 10:57 AM
porter cable 690, imo, is just about the perfect hand held size for a router, and it's strong enough (barely) to even do stile cuts and short/shallow panel profiles on softwoods, so would be a good choice for a first router.

scott spencer
05-04-2010, 11:04 AM