PDA

View Full Version : Next Tool Question

Peter Gavin
11-18-2004, 9:36 AM
I'm a relative newbie here, but I've really learned a lot and gotten excited about woodworking by hanging out here. I have a very limited budget, but I've managed to cobble together a workshop of hand me downs, loaners and minimal purchases. I've got a table saw, 6" jointer, drill press, grinder and some hand tools. I will be starting a new and improved job soon and may celebrate by buying a new tool. My question is what do you think should be my next purchase? I was thinking about a planer, but is there something you would recomend higher? In order to justify the planer is the abilty to buy rough sawn lumber and save over the big box wrapped in plastic stuff going to help me sell the purchase to SWMBO? How much can I realistically expect to save? I am almost finished with a pair of night stands and I plan on using the tools to make furniture such as a bed set, dining room table and some build ins for the house.

Thanks in advance,

Peter

Kent Cori
11-18-2004, 10:14 AM
Peter,

First, if we haven't done so already, welcome to SMC. We are always glad to have new people who ask us our opinions on how they should spend their money. :D

Given the tools you have, I think adding a planer next would be an excellent idea. It offers many advantages:

1. You can get many more wood species in rough form than the pre-planed types form from the Borg.
2. I often found some thickness differences in two boards bought from the same bin at the Borg. They simply aren't very consistent.
3. The planer will let you create any thickness you need.
4. Hardwood is much less expensive if you plane it yourself. My experience is that it costs around 50% of what I would pay at the Borg.