PDA

View Full Version : Table saw alignment problems

Tom Porter
04-29-2010, 5:41 PM
I'm relatively new to woodworking. I bought a used Craftsman table saw a while ago (model 113.298240) and I'm trying to get it set up. It heels pretty badly, so I downloaded the manual and tried to align it. I'm having no luck. I loosen the trunion screws and whack at the trunion with a wood block and a hammer but it doesn't seem to budge. If I loosen the screws a lot, the trunion will move, so the screws are seized or anything but I just can't seem to get this thing aligned. I'm considering buy a Saw PALS kit as I've seen suggested on a few threads here.

So, any advice on align this thing? Should I try the PALS kit? Should I burn the saw to the ground and take up yoga?

Alan Schwabacher
04-29-2010, 6:25 PM
PALS would be a good idea for that, assuming that model is a contractors saw with a cast iron table with trunnions bolted to it.

Sometimes you can have difficulty moving the trunnion only a little because of a rough surface. To fix, take it apart, clean everything, and file the mating surfaces clean and smooth where the trunnions contact the table.

It's also a good idea to clamp the trunnion to its mating cradle while you are adjusting the miter slot parallel to the blade. This prevents causing slop in the mechanism.

A good book, like John White's "Care and repair of shop machinery", or Kelly Mehler's "Tablesaw Book" is also very helpful.

glenn bradley
04-29-2010, 7:32 PM
My C-man had 5 bolts, not 4. Just thought I'd mention that as I goofed around a bit till I figured it out. Four corners and one centered in front. The holes in the trunnion are larger than the bolt shafts. This is what allows the movement. PALs was the best $20 I ever spent and I advise anyone with a contractor that they want aligned without frustration to get them.

All that being said, there are some extensive tutorials on here regarding aligning contractor saws. Here's a couple: