PDA

View Full Version : New band Saw

Greg Labacz
04-24-2010, 8:10 AM
I am in the process of replacing my delta 12" band saw.
I am looking at 14" saws made by Grizzly, Delta, and Jet. I'm need to stay under the $500 mark. The Grizzly Go555 seems to be the best bang for the buck and all the reviews place it above the others. What are your thoughts? Does anyone have the Grizzly? :confused::confused::confused:

glenn bradley
04-24-2010, 9:05 AM
I don't have the 555 but this could help:

http://www.google.com/search?q=G0555&sitesearch=www.sawmillcreek.org

Louie Ballis
04-24-2010, 10:33 AM
Let me prefice this by saying that I am a relative newbie to ww and this is the first bandsaw that I have owned or even used.

I do have the 0555 by grizzzly with the riser block. I would reccomend it.

I have had, and still ocassionally have problems getting the blade to track properly, esp. the real narrow ones (3/16s) but I think that most of it is my ignorance. So I can not blame the bandsaw. I do think that the riser block (causing deflection) or my inability to get the tension just right is the main problem.

A very good friend of mine recently purchased the 14 inch Powermatic BS and I dont see it being superior at all. In fact I (IMHO) think that the fit and finsh of the grizzly is far superior, esp the powder coating.

Hope this helps, it is alot of saw for the money.

Louie

Brendan Plavis
04-24-2010, 6:03 PM
I like Delta.... I recently found myself in the same predicament, and chose said brand. I have been very pleased with the customer relations(sent me free parts, after I bought the floor model which was missing a few parts(knobs, nuts, and an insert.)

With that said, I have no prior experience with the other too. And I have only been playing with my new toy for two days now...

brian watts
04-24-2010, 8:54 PM
Let me prefice this by saying that I am a relative newbie to ww and this is the first bandsaw that I have owned or even used.