PDA

View Full Version : Jointer Lesson

Bobby O'Neal
04-22-2010, 8:53 PM
So I'm a noob who's wanting to learn more about the milling process and eventually save up and buy some equipment. Reading up on jointers and planers, I'm coming across terms that are new to me. So...what are parallelogram beds on a jointer? Also, the term shelix/helical head? No clue on that one. What about the differences between spiral cutting blades and straight blades? Thanks all.

Bobby O'Neal

Glen Butler
04-22-2010, 10:40 PM
Two quick google searches will yield a picture that will be worth a thousand words.

Helical Heads
http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&q=helical%20head&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi

Helical heads are opposite straight knives (typically of high speed steel). Helical heads are preferred because of the cleaner sheering action cut and the carbide inserts remain sharper longer.

Parallelogram Jointers
http://images.google.com/images?um=1&hl=en&tbs=isch%3A1&sa=1&q=parallelogram+jointer&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=&start=0

Parallelogram jointers are opposite dovetail way jointers. The table raises and lowers via two linkages that form a parallelogram with the base and tables. Dovetail jointers raise and lower the table via a sliding slope.

Bobby O'Neal
04-23-2010, 5:46 AM
Thanks, Glen. So what is the advantage of the parallelogram?

Chris Kennedy
04-23-2010, 6:18 AM
I should point out that I am not speaking from experience, just my own research.

Parallelogram jointers are supposed to be easier to adjust. If you are going to be changing the heights of your tables fairly regularly, a parallelogram jointer is the way to go. If you are likely to set your tables once and not change the heights very often, then you don't really need the parallelogram feature.

Cheers,

Chris

Rod Sheridan
04-23-2010, 8:10 AM
I'm really at a loss to understand how a parallelogram jointer could be better than a dovetailed way jointer when it comes to changing table height.