PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in a bandsaw

Brian Hale
11-15-2004, 6:32 PM
I want one for resawing (something i've never done before) and general cutting but what should i look for? HP ratings? What kind of guides? What speed should the blade run at? etc.....

Right now, my uneducated gut feeling says the 17" from Wilke is the way to go, any thoughts? (I can pick it up, no shipping)

http://www.wilkemach.com/OnlineCatalogDetailResults.tpl?SearchDetail=106849 6821660172&PreviousCategory=Bandsaws

Thanks!
Brian :)

Mike Cutler
11-15-2004, 6:59 PM
Brian. I have a Jet 14" bandsaw with a riser kit, and it doesn't do what I want it too,as far as resawing is concerned. I've established the following "criteria" for my next BS.
1. Must be at least 3HP.
2. Must be able to properly tension a 1", 3-4tpi blade.
3. Must have cast iron wheels.
4. must have cast iron table trunniion supports.
5. Must have adequate DC capabilities.
6. Must have a rock solid blade guide.
7. Must have at least 10" of resaw height.
8. Must be heavy, no more light weight tools or shotguns for me.
9. The guides will be roller bearing type, Carters, or Euro Style. It doesn't have to ship with them I'll add the ones I want later.
I've been eyeballing the Grizzly 20" BS. Nothing firm for me yet, tho'
Resawing takes power. I can cut thin vener with my Jet, what I can't do is resaw thick slices for solid panel bookmatching.
These are the qualities I find necessary. Good Luck hunting, and don't be afraid to buy alot of saw.

Dave Bartley
11-15-2004, 7:00 PM
For size I think you are on the right track. I do think, even though it is a 220v unit, a bit more HP would be helpfull. In anything above 6" thickness you will find the saw bogging down quite a bit. 2 HP would be much better for your needs.