PDA

View Full Version : Footprint Planes

David Nelson1
04-19-2010, 9:13 AM
Morning All,

I would like to ask ya'lls opinion of Footprint planes. The comments I have seen have been mostly positive, which I have taken with a grain of salt. Before everyone says ya get what ya pay for I know that.... I'm extremely new to wood working and have only used a plane for the first time this weekend tring to square a glued up panel. I have been given some good advise on another tread about what to use for a shooting board. Looking around this morning I found this package deal. Looks good to me may need a few adjustments out of the box. I'm open for comments before I pull a trgger.

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00987691000P#specs

Brian Kent
04-19-2010, 9:54 AM
Pull the trigger and you'll shoot yourself in the foot.

The path to inexpensive planes is rehabbing old Stanleys or buying rosewood mujingfang planes from Lee Valley or Japan Woodworker.

Sam Takeuchi
04-19-2010, 10:03 AM
Don't. I haven't personally used those, but I'm pretty sure they are made to match the low quality common in most budget planes. A lot of times, these budget planes need little more than a 'few adjustments' to get them into good order. Stuff like Anant, Groz, Kunz, Stanley, these, and whatever cheap stuff you see sold, if you are serious about getting result on wood, these brands of planes will not do unless you first spend a lot of time reading and researching, acquiring materials to tune them up (it can be costly if you are on budget), and spend time working on them before you can even start working on wood.