PDA

View Full Version : Words of wisdom for a complete NOOB?

Brian Mills
04-17-2010, 9:10 PM
Hello all! Since high school shop class I've loved making things out of wood. Having said that the most difficult thing I've tackled is garage work furnature until now....

I've decided to make my son a bed for his 4 year old birthday. For me it's a huge project. I have the design planned, purchased the wood and thanks to a friend planned and edged all the boards. I have all the boards ripped to width and rough cut to length.

I'm at the stage now of cutting to exact length and mortising and tenon. And to be honest I'm scared. I have about 20% extra material but some of the main boards I don't have any backups as they are long. Oh and did I mention I only have a week to put this together.... :eek: Luckily (and unluckily) he mainly lives with his mother so as long as I have the bed assembled by next Friday I can sand, stain and finish up the drawers later.

I'm realistic that I'm not expecting this to be perfect but I do want it to be nice and solid. Hopefully it is something that can be handed down in the family. I know that a lofty goal for a NOOB but I'm pretty handy and think I can do it.

My question is, do you have any words of wisdom when building beds and secondly and probably more importantly does anyone have any words of wisdom when it comes to mortise and tenons?

I think the thing that concerns me the most is getting them centered for one and secondly getting the faces to fit flush.

I just built a jig found out of a Shop Notes mag and plan to practice as much as I can before I start in on the actual bed boards but I'm running out of time. If the project goes longer I guess it's not the end of the world but I really don't want to let him down either.

Thanks for any input!

Victor Robinson
04-17-2010, 9:26 PM
How are you planning on mortising and making the tenons? That will help folks give you more specific advice...

Brian Mills
04-17-2010, 9:50 PM