PDA

View Full Version : who makes the thinnest (kerf) tablesaw blade

Louie Ballis
04-16-2010, 11:09 AM
In cutting apart box carcasses (for jewelry boxes that are either dovetailed or box jointed) I have used both the table saw and my trusty 14 inch Grizzly bandsaw.

My problem is that with the bandsaw, even with a new blade and tuned to the best of my (limited) ability, I still get some blade drift, espcially when cutting a 14x10 inch box.

When I use my table saw (outfitted with a freud combo blade) I loss about .125 inches of material which make the box or dovetail joints uneven. But the upside is a very straight clean cut.

Does anyone know of an extremily thin table saw blade. Or better yet, another way to do this?

What about a Japanese pul/pushl saw? I have never used one before but would it keep straight? Are the HF versions any good?

Grateful for any help

Louie

john bateman
04-16-2010, 11:24 AM
If you look through Freuds circular saw blades, they have 7" and 8" blades with a kerf of less than 1/16".
Here's one.
http://www.amazon.com/Freud-D0740X-Finishing-Knockout-PermaShield/dp/B00008WQ2H/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1271431979&sr=8-3

Philip Johnson
04-16-2010, 11:40 AM
I know nothing about this blade except its on the new Rockler ad

Called a Micro Kerf 40 blade not cheap at 175 but says cuts as thin as a dime.

Phil

Louie Ballis
04-16-2010, 11:42 AM
Thanks for the info John and Phillip.

I never thought to look anywhere but a 10 inch blade.

A silly question but I have to ask anyway....OK to use this in a 10 in table saw (5/8" arbor so thats not an issue)?

Paul Atkins
04-16-2010, 11:42 AM
Glue up your boards with paper and then do your joinery-pop it apart when done with no kerf loss.

Dave Sepucha
04-16-2010, 11:43 AM
I was thinking the same thing...

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=22633&filter=thin%20kerf

Supposedly the thickness of a dime which is about 0.054 or 7/128 of an inch

Brian Greb
04-16-2010, 11:44 AM