PDA

View Full Version : The Segmented Pen That Wasn't

James Combs
04-15-2010, 8:10 PM
This is my first attempt at a segmented pen using a divider material.:D As you can see it turned out decent but certainly not segmented.:confused: I believe I cut my cross slots in the wrong direction making the divider material look more like an inlay and if anyone asks inlay was my intention.:rolleyes:

Wood is Walnut with an initial CA finished then polished with hut crystal coat and pen wax (the stick). The "inlay" is the thin white covering from old piano keys aka "ivory".

Richard Madison
04-15-2010, 8:16 PM
James, I rarely even look at the pens, but your title got my attention and I like this one. The "inlay" is just enough to make it special.

Roland Martin
04-15-2010, 8:39 PM
Very nice "inlay" work James. Seriously, this is a good looking pen.

David E Keller
04-15-2010, 8:45 PM
It looks nice even if it wasn't what you pictured in your head. Very classy!

Brian Greb
04-15-2010, 10:06 PM
Very nice oops!:D I've done the exact same thing... I also used the "inlay" story as a cover up.:rolleyes:

But seriously nice pen.

Bernie Weishapl
04-15-2010, 10:17 PM
That is a good looking pen James. Nice inlay.

Baxter Smith
04-15-2010, 10:18 PM
That is a nice touch!

John Keeton
04-16-2010, 6:55 AM
JD, looks like you lucked into this one. I think this may have turned out better than you first planned - nice look! The ivory has a blue cast in the pic (at least on my computer) and I wonder if that is the lighting or the effect of the finish - or the computer I am on at the moment? Even so, I kind of like it!

Steve Schlumpf
04-16-2010, 7:29 AM
Very nice design James! The inlay story works for me!

Montgomery Scott
04-16-2010, 9:35 AM
The shape of the pen is quite unappealing, but the inlay is slick.

James Combs
04-16-2010, 2:48 PM