PDA

View Full Version : Bank CD and new term ????

Dave Lehnert
04-14-2010, 9:35 PM
Had a CD come due today at a local bank. As many may know rates are very low right now. To top thing off they now only offer 15 months as the shortest term available. Anyone see this happening at their bank?

Jim Rimmer
04-14-2010, 10:23 PM
We've been able to get 6 month and one year but the rate is REALLY low. Have you tried credit unions?

Chris Damm
04-16-2010, 8:18 AM
My CU is paying 2% on regular savings which is at least twice what CDs are paying.

Montgomery Scott
04-16-2010, 9:42 AM
I would never belong to a bank if there is the option to join a credit union. My CU has options from 3 months to 60 months, but the rates still suck now. At least there are no fees for regular banking transactions including ATM withdrawls.

Kevin Groenke
04-16-2010, 9:52 AM
I've been chasing reward checking accounts for a few years.
http://www.depositaccounts.com/checking/reward-checking-accounts.html

It can be a pain moving money around and ditching accounts when the rates crash (or a bank is closed by the OTS as happened recently).

BUT, I've consistently been earning more on these accounts that on any CD or other liquid accounts. Currently 4.5% and 3.5% at a local CU and a local bank.

Seeing $75+/mo in interest on these accounts monthly makes them well worth the trouble for me.

Jim Finn
04-16-2010, 6:45 PM
My bank here in Texas pays those low rates for savings and for cd's but pays me 3% for $ in my checking account! It was 5% two years ago.

Tom Winship
04-24-2010, 9:23 AM
You know interest rates are low when a bank will call a CD paying 2.65% four months before maturity. I had that happen this week.
Tom

Rich Engelhardt
04-24-2010, 1:30 PM
Give ING a try.

The "brains of the family",, AKA, my wife, has been stashing money into ING for a coule of years.

I have no idea how much she has in there, nor do I know what type of terms/rates she's getting.