PDA

View Full Version : Art Pieces

GLENN THOMAS
04-10-2010, 4:05 PM
I was browsing around on youtube again and found a segment with Ron Kent, and it was mentioned that his bowls sell for $2500 to $3000. I also noticed on Mike Mahoney's web side that he has a Kitchen set that is listed for over $8000. Some of the artist featured in the book "New Masters of Woodturning" have a lot of work in the Del Mano gallery priced at thousands of dollars. Im not trying to belittle their work and although the work they do is outstanding I have seen a lot posted on SMC and various club web sites that could give them a run for their money. What do these folks know that we don't ? Ron Kent for example was a stock broker and self taught wood turner. While the idea of making that much money for any one piece is really nice, the idea of doing work so good that people would be willing to spend so much of their hard earned money on it is even nicer. Any thoughts?

GT

alex carey
04-10-2010, 4:35 PM
Yes I know exactly what you mean. Some of these pieces just don't seem worth it at all. For some of these artists size starts becoming a factor. Ron Kent for instance makes some rather large pieces. 4 or 5 feet tall as far as I've seen, even though I personally don't like any of his large vases. In other cases I guess you start paying for the name behind the piece. They just know how to put themselves out there the right way.

Steve Vaughan
04-10-2010, 4:55 PM
I think it's a mix of things. Someone's experience, their being published on the subject, of course the quality of their work as well as their creativity, their knowledge of wood and wood treatment, their knowing how to get their pieces in the right places, knowing the market they're after...and maybe just being dang more fortunate than most of us just because that's the way life is sometimes.