PDA

View Full Version : best way to start power sanding.

cody michael
04-03-2010, 9:38 PM
i want to be able to start power sanding. i started using my orbital sander on the outside of bowls and it makes life so much easier. where is the best place to get what i need to be able to sand inside and outside of bowls? i see alot of people have sander discs they put on drills is this the best route?

Rich Aldrich
04-03-2010, 9:50 PM
Cody,

I am new at turning as well. A lot of the people here buy sanding products from http://www.vinceswoodnwonders.com/

You can use the pads with a drill.

David E Keller
04-03-2010, 10:27 PM
I use a drill with a three inch disc. I'll probably get a smaller disc as well.

I got mine at WC because it was convenient, but as usual with WC, there are cheaper places to get the stuff.

cody michael
04-03-2010, 10:47 PM
would one of these be a good place to start? i do mainly 7-10inch bowls what size should i start with?

there are 30$ ceramic kit or a 21$ kit that is different style are the ceramic ones worth extra price?

http://www.vinceswoodnwonders.com/Sanding_Starter_Kits.htm

i am planning on get a right angle drill from harbor freight. is that the best cheap way to go for the drill part? any model that works best?

Reed Gray
04-03-2010, 10:51 PM
Do check out Vince's site. He does tell a lot about sanding as well as sell his products. I have been using his stuff for several years, and prefer them over anything else I have used.

You will need a drill, which can run from $30 to $170 or so. I prefer the slow speed ones, but have been using the high speed one for a bit, which I will get around to talking about in another thread soon. The rechargeable drills don't work well.

I will use the 3 inch discs on any bowl I can get them into because they have twice the sanding area of a 2 inch disc. I do keep some 2 inch discs on hand.