PDA

View Full Version : Carcass Saw

Eugenio Musto
04-03-2010, 11:56 AM
Hello,
my name is Eugenio,i'm from Italy and i'm new to the Sawmill Creek.
I love hand tools and expecially saws.
In theese days i'm looking for a good carcass saw in order to cut tenon shoulders,edges of a dado and for cuts in a mitre box.
I saw Lie Nielsen,Adria,Wenzloff they all seem good so i can't choose among them.Any suggestions?
Thanks all for the attention!!

P.S. Just a little question for Rob Lee: Is there any chance of a Veritas carcass saw before summer?I already bought the small crosscut saw but i need something with more depth of cut.

Dave Schwarzkopf
04-03-2010, 12:06 PM
http://www.badaxetoolworks.com/

Mark just came out with his new carcass saw; I can recommend him without reservations. I have no doubts that you'd be happy with any of his products.

Andrew Gibson
04-03-2010, 12:09 PM
Welcome to the Creek!
Any of the saws you listed would be a great saw. Tools for working wood also have some offerings that would be good as does Bad axe tool works. Not that that will help you narrow down your decision.

I have been deciding on saws for myself recently and I decided on Wenzloff for the materials and I am going to make the handles my self. It seems like it will be a little more economical and I will have custom made handles as well. All It will take is time which is fine with me.

Tony Shea
04-03-2010, 12:37 PM
All It will take is time which is fine with me.

"But if you factor in your time it will end up costing more in the long run than it would to just buy a handled saw! Your time is worth a lot!"