PDA

View Full Version : Applying finish while on the lathe

Rich Aldrich
04-03-2010, 10:04 AM
I am new at all of this, so sorry for a dumb question (ie easy question to answer). How do you protect your lathe from having the finish stick to the lathe? I assume by wiping it on, it isnt as messy, but I think about the lathe whipping the finish so you have a racing stripe across the lathe bed, on the floor, up the wall and on the ceiling - like turning really wet wood as when the sap is running.

Again, I assume this doesnt happen because you wipe it on in thin coats.

Bernie Weishapl
04-03-2010, 10:13 AM
Rich I don't apply any finish on the lathe unless it is pens or bottle stoppers and then it is wiped on at a slow speed maybe 100 rpm. When I do pens, stoppers, ornaments, etc. and apply like shellac, CA or such I put a piece of plastic on the lathe bed. All the big stuff such as bowls, HF's, plates, etc are finished off the lathe.

Steve Schlumpf
04-03-2010, 10:15 AM
Rich - when applying oil - I wipe it on with the lathe off. Let it soak in a little and wipe off any excess. I usually do this a couple of times to make sure the oil is in the wood really good - then turn the lathe on and apply some more oil by burning it in. Meaning - put some oil on a paper towel and press into the wood so that it creates friction which speeds up the drying process.

Make sure that you do not heat the wood up very much if it is thin - or it may crack on you!

Also - I only do this on small turnings. Anything larger - like bowls or hollow forms are sanded on the lathe but finished off the lathe

John Keeton
04-03-2010, 11:36 AM
I am going to jump out here and show my inexperience.