PDA

View Full Version : question on coffee grounds

Charlie Reals
04-02-2010, 4:57 PM
What is the procedure for filling cracks with coffee and glue? I have some major cracks in the first of the almond turnings and refuse to toss it if I can save it.Do I mix the grounds and glue into a paste then fill the crack? I am new to filling with coffee lol.
Charlie

Ken Fitzgerald
04-02-2010, 5:12 PM
Charlie,

I usually use epoxy and instant coffee. I crush the instant coffee crystals in a spoon and then mix it with the epoxy and fill the cracks with the colored epoxy.

My wife bought a jar of instant coffee some 25 years ago and I finally found something to do with it!:D

Steve Schlumpf
04-02-2010, 5:18 PM
Charlie - really depends on how big the cracks are. For smaller cracks - I use dry (old/used) coffee grounds and CA. Just put the CA into the crack - pack with coffee grounds and then touch up with some more CA.

For cracks that are larger - I use epoxy and just when the stuff is starting to set up, stir in the grounds and pack into the cracks.

On the grounds - I use old dried up used grounds that I have run through the grinder a few times to make it into an espresso grind - very fine powder. Works better when the grounds are smaller!

John Keeton
04-02-2010, 5:19 PM
Charlie, I have used both instant coffee and regular coffee grounds. The instant coffee is a little lighter and browner, and the instant coffee may bleed a little color - but both work well.

Wally Dickerman
04-02-2010, 6:37 PM
My method for cracks that aren't too big is to pour some coffe grounds on the the piece and hand rub them into the crack. Poke at them with a dental tool, rub some more, then pour med. CA glue into the grounds. If the crack is small I sometime use thin CA, then med.....works for me.

Every turner should have some used dental tools on hand...just ask your dentist for some. I sometimes wonder about how some of them got bent???

Wally

Allen Neighbors
04-02-2010, 6:44 PM