PDA

View Full Version : Question about Lathe Setup

Larry Feltner
03-31-2010, 11:10 AM
I am new to turning but have been saving and wanting a lathe for a long time. When Jet had the sale recently I finally decided to pull the trigger and bought a 1642. Keep in mind that I have no experience with a lathe at all so this might sound like a stupid question. The directions said to clean all surfaces with a degreaser. In the trouble shooting section it said that not getting all the grease off of the bed could cause some slippage of the tool rest, head stock, or tail stock. My question is should be bed surface be completely lubricant free. I was thinking that since the tool rest, etc., is slid along the bed that it would require some sort of lubricant. But there is no mention of this. Is it correct for there to be no lubrication at all on those surfaces? If that is the case, how do you prevent rust on those surfaces? Do you use the same things on the lathe bed to prevent rust as you use on other cast iron in your shop, paste wax, t-9, etc? And will those cause slippage problems? Thanks in advance for your help.

steven carter
03-31-2010, 11:17 AM
Larry,

Welcome to the Creek and congratulations on your new lathe. I have the same one and I'm sure you will like it. I cleaned off the packing grease, but also either wax or use Boeshield t-9 on the ways to protect it, and have no problems with anything slipping. I think most people after cleaning off rust with some kind of abrasive, (I use a 3m pad) will wax the lathe bed. Looking forward to pictures of your lathe and future turnings.

Steve

Steve Schlumpf
03-31-2010, 11:25 AM
Larry - Welcome to the Vortex! Like Steve - I also have the same lathe and have been using Johnson's paste wax as both a protectorate and lubricant for the bed.

Looking forward to seeing some of your work!

Bill Bolen
03-31-2010, 11:38 AM