PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good beginners kit for pen turning?

Kevin Blunt
03-30-2010, 7:05 PM
Hello everyone,

My father and I want to try our luck at penturning but have NEVER done anything in this regard. I own a lathe and also bought a mastercraft mini lathe solely for this purpose about a year and a half ago. I am just now getting into the pen thing. Please keep in mind that I am JUST getting started.

I noticed that Busy Bee has a "Deluxe" pen turning kit on sale for 49.99 right now and wondered what else might be needed just to get turning pens. I know there is a pen press. Do you have to have it? I am also aware of a pen blank vise for drilling the hole but wouldn't a regular drill press vise do th esame thing basically? I own a DP vise fwiw. It is a morse taper #1 kit which will fit my Mastercraft lathe. The M-Craft lathe is no hell I realize but it has got to be able to turn pens.

Here is the link.

http://busybeetools.ca/cgi-bin/picture10?NTITEM=B2836

Upon looking at the items included in this kit, one item confuses me. What the heck is a leverage stick in a pen turniing kit used for!

Thanks as always for your input folks.

Kevin

David E Keller
03-30-2010, 8:14 PM
Not sure about the leverage stick.

I don't know anything about this particular kit, but I don't think I'd go for it. You can order the individual components separately for about the same price. The polishing wax is probably almost worthless, and the kits can be had for less than two bucks a piece on the internet. The pen mill is a necessity, but I'm not sure about the quality of that particular one. It looks like this kit is only for turning slimline pens which is a bit limiting.

You don't need a separate pen press, and you can make one pretty easily. I use my drill press as a pen press. The vice is also not mandatory, and simple shop made versions work just fine. You can actually drill the blanks on your lathe even more accurately if you've got a chuck.