PDA

View Full Version : First Cordless Lathe

Michael Bragdon
03-25-2010, 3:35 PM
I am new to the creek and a novice turrner
Last winter my wife and I took a trip to New Hampshire to visit her sister. We went to visit my nephew who has an old farm house with a barn attached up on the 3rd floor of the bar was this old lathe thought some of you would like to see it, Looks like all the parts are there to make it work

Scott Hussey
03-25-2010, 3:43 PM
Thanks for sharing these pictures.

Amazing what the generations of old used. Makes us all look a little silly for discussions on high speed steel vs carbide tipped tools, variable speed this and thats, and other "modern" tools.

Now you need a horse or water-wheel to turn your work!:D

Michael Bragdon
03-25-2010, 3:54 PM
This one has tredel for powwer

Mark Hubl
03-25-2010, 4:02 PM
Michael,

Great post! Love seeing the old stuff. Amazing what can be used to turn out quality work. This kind of stuff always reminds me of one of my friends favorite sayings, "Yep, that's from a time when men were made of steel and ships of wood."

Richard Dooling
03-25-2010, 4:10 PM
Great stuff, thanks!

I can't wait to see what George Wilson and Harry Strasil have to say about this.

charlie knighton
03-25-2010, 4:19 PM
suggested reading:

Hand or Simple Turning Principles and Practice

By John Jacob Holtzapffel

copyright : This Dover edition, first published in 1976, is an unabridged republication of the work published by Holtzapffel & Co., London, in 1881, as Volume IV of the five-volume work Turning and Mechanical Manipulation. Intended as a Work of General Reference and Practical Instruction, on the Lathe, and the Various Mechanical Pursuits Followed by Amateur.

its an interesting read if you can find a copy, i 1st learned of it from a post by Peter Lamb on another board

GLENN THOMAS
03-25-2010, 6:10 PM
Thanks for sharing these pictures.