PDA

View Full Version : Best Magnifying Visor Recommendations?

richard poitras
03-23-2010, 10:42 PM
Best Magnifying Visor Recommendations?

I am taking a week long class on veneering in May down at the Mark Adams School in Indiana. They have a class tool list of things to bring, one of which is a Magnifying Visor for close up work. For those of you that have visors which ones have you tried and would recommend? I know these are used a lot in scroll saw work also but I have no experience with them and if I buy a pair I would like to a good set right out of the get go and not have to experiment.

Thanks Richard

Jamie Buxton
03-23-2010, 10:55 PM
Don't get a magnifying visor. Get a binocular loupe. You may have noticed that your dentist wears a binocular loupe, or the surgeons on those hospital TV shows.

Magnifying visors have short focal distances. That is, your face is close to the workpiece -- the workpiece where some sharp powerful tool is cutting. Binocular loupes have longer focal distances. This keeps your face away from the danger zone.

For instance, a magnifying visor with a magnification of 3 focuses about 3-4" away from your nose. A 3X binocular loupe focuses a good 12" away from your nose.

The loupes used by doctors cost a thousand bucks or more. They can be autoclaved, and can be worn all day. For a tenth that price, you can buy a loupe with plastic lenses (not autoclavable), with a headband that's not quite so comfortable, but still good enough for woodshop use. For instance http://www.amazon.com/Grobet-EDROY-MAGNIFIER-BINOCULAR-LOUPE/dp/B000HTZSOC

joe milana
03-24-2010, 12:23 AM
Best way to pick out a visor is to try them out. Not only is magnification and focal length an issue, but field of view plays a big factor as well. 2.5 magnification at 14" sounds good, but not if your field of view is the size of a dime.
Optivisor is a popular brand and I believe can be found locally at craft stores, rock shops, etc. if you call around. Go try a pair on.