PDA

View Full Version : 1 x 10 Baseboards - Installation Questions

Will Rowland
03-19-2010, 2:17 PM
I just agreed to put in some 1 x 10 #1 pine baseboards in a friend's kitchen/breakfast room this weekend. The baseboards will go on top of existing drywall, which in turn is mounted to 100 yr old pine shiplap. I plan to route the top outside edge of the 1 x 10s with a roundover bit prior to installation.

This is my first attempt at any work like this, so a few beginner questions:

I've got both 16 ga and 15 ga nailers...is there any reason not to use the 15 ga for the job?

How and where should I space the nails? Is there a risk of the boards warping and later pulling the top edge away from the wall that would suggest gluing the top edge to the drywall?

Should I cope one board at each corner, or would I be able to get away with mitering the joints?

We'll put quarter round against the bottom edge once finished. Should the baseboards rest on the floor, or should I leave a small gap between the floor and the baseboards?

Any guidance would be most appreciated!

Jamie Buxton
03-19-2010, 2:26 PM
Start with the realization that the wall is not flat, and the floor is not either. As a way of dealing with this reality, folks often install tall baseboard like this in several pieces. For instance, you can nail on the 1x10, then add a cap molding that is fairly small and fairly flexible. Because it is flexible, you can bend it to conform to the wall, so you don't have gaps to the wall. Similarly, the purpose of the quarter-round at the bottom is to conform to the floor, and cover any gaps between the bottom of the 1x10 and the floor.

Lee Schierer
03-19-2010, 3:11 PM
You are wasting your time if you don't nail into the studs. Dry wall will not hold a nail securely enough to prevent the board from twisting or warping. Your nails need to go at least an inch into solid wood to hold your boards in place.

Will Rowland
03-19-2010, 3:29 PM