PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with tear out

Jaze Derr
03-18-2010, 10:31 PM
I'm in the process of flattening my new bench top, made out of #2 construction grade doug fir. I am really new to woodworking, and didn't pay enough attention to grain direction when I glued up the top.

I'm getting some pretty bad tear out with my #5 plane. I don't have a scraper and can't afford one right now (plus, that's another thing I'd have to learn to sharpen, and I'm not doing so great with the regular tools).

How can I reduce tear out in soft wood, with knots everywhere, and grain going every which way? Should I just call it good and switch to my sander?

Also: Hi! I'm new here, but i've been reading the forums for a month or so before I signed up. Not crazy about the "real names" part, but this place just has so much useful info that I finally couldn't resist.

Paul Atkins
03-19-2010, 12:54 AM
I would sharpen that plane ASAP (as sharp as possible) and go cross grain to take out the bumps and stuff. Don't set it too deep and set the mouth close. You can go even 45 degrees and back the other way and then get the sander out. Might take a while, but the tearout will be less.

John Thompson
03-19-2010, 9:55 AM
I would pull out the belt sander and make a jig to get it flat. I love hand planes and have used them for almost 40 years but you shot yourself in the foot by not orienting the grain on the DF in the same direction. DF can be grainy on the edges and splinters easily. Trust me on that as I have made around 10 work-bench bases from old growth I got from beams I recovered from a civil war warehouse here in Atlanta. The belt sander (as much as I hate using them with the dust issue) is definitely where I would go.