PDA

View Full Version : Turning Black Walnut question

Scott Hussey
03-18-2010, 3:25 PM
Hey all,

I'm a newbie turner and recently got some walnut from a friend who cut a big black walnut tree down. I've cut some blanks, quarter-sawed them them and roughed the into round with my chainsaw. I've mounted them on the lathe and tried to turn them - got the outside shape ok, and tried hollowing them out. It's been difficult at best to get the inside of the bowl removed.

I cut one straight across and tried turning endgrain and it has been a disaster.

The Walnut seems to be the hardest wood I've turned so far and I can't seem to get a clean cut. I've made a few bowls out of osage, cherry, black locust, cottonwood and comparatively, I'm having a tough time getting the walnut to turn correctly.

Even after I sharpen my bowl gouge..still doesn't seem to cut well.

Is it me or is walnut just a difficult wood to turn?

By the way, I've learned a ton from you guys as I've been lurking.

Great site.

Thx

Scott

Kevin J Lalonde
03-18-2010, 3:33 PM
Walnut has been a pleasure to turn particularly when compared to osage orange and locust. Might I suggest that it being the tool positioning as the problem? Good luck.

Steve Schlumpf
03-18-2010, 3:34 PM
Scott - Welcome to the Creek!

This is one of those time when photos would really help out! Any chance you can post a couple that would show what you are turning and also what tools you are using?

Kyle Iwamoto
03-18-2010, 5:08 PM
Walnut is fairly easy to turn, IMO. I envy you guys that can get it free.
What are you sharpening the gouge with? Do you have a jig?

Bernie Weishapl
03-18-2010, 7:15 PM