PDA

View Full Version : OK to polish sides of a new dovetail saw?

Dale Sautter
03-18-2010, 1:59 PM
Hi all,

Recently picked up a Veritas dovetail saw from a local retailer that used it as as their "display model" (14 ppi and a little used). I mainly work with thinner stock so was hoping to pick up the 20 ppi version, but on impulse, grabbed it because it was what they had in the store. I don't know how long they had it in display/trial mode so I don't know how sharp it should be. I'm a novice, but know sharp... it rattles a tad when first starting the cut, so it may be technique on my part, and perhaps a tad dull from use.

My plan:

1) file the first inch to inch and a quarter @20 ppi, then touch up the remaining, leaving it at 14 ppi

2) use some 1000 grit or so to polish the sides a bit thinking shiny would be easier to push.

Well, maybe I should do number two first... if it would be worth the step... what think ye?

Steve Dallas
03-18-2010, 2:03 PM
Hi all,

Recently picked up a Veritas dovetail saw from a local retailer that used it as as their "display model" (14 ppi and a little used). I mainly work with thinner stock so was hoping to pick up the 20 ppi version, but on impulse, grabbed it because it was what they had in the store. I don't know how long they had it in display/trial mode so I don't know how sharp it should be. I'm a novice, but know sharp... it rattles a tad when first starting the cut, so it may be technique on my part, and perhaps a tad dull from use.

My plan:

1) file the first inch to inch and a quarter @20 ppi, then touch up the remaining, leaving it at 14 ppi

2) use some 1000 grit or so to polish the sides a bit thinking shiny would be easier to push.

Well, maybe I should do number two first... if it would be worth the step... what think ye?

If the saw is dull then sharpen it. Otherwise saw is fit for service, as-is. Go saw some dovetails. Have fun.

Zach Dillinger
03-18-2010, 2:05 PM
Dale,