PDA

View Full Version : Montgomery Wards #45 Plane worth having?

Tri Hoang
03-18-2010, 10:38 AM
I have the option of getting one in mint condition (complete, never used). Apparently, it's made by Stanley.

I already have a few wooden dado/rabbet/plow planes. I've never used a combination plane before so I am asking for your wisdom & experience. Pattrick's Blood & Gore does not have very nice words for the #45.

Is it difficult to use? How often do you use yours?

Steve Dallas
03-18-2010, 11:08 AM
I have the option of getting one in mint condition (complete, never used). Apparently, it's made by Stanley.

I already have a few wooden dado/rabbet/plow planes. I've never used a combination plane before so I am asking for your wisdom & experience. Pattrick's Blood & Gore does not have very nice words for the #45.

I use mine all the time. I like Patrick Leach's compilation of information but his editorial comments often miss the mark IMO. When forming mouldings with the plane, select mild grained stock, make sure the cutter is sharp, and take very thin shavings. This is necessary when making mouldings by hand with ANY plane - not just a 45 or 55.

If the price is good I wouldn't let it get away. Use it though - it's not worth a damn sitting on a shelf.

John Powers
03-18-2010, 1:32 PM
consider the cost, what is does and what you do. Dirt cheap with some cutters, no brainer...buy it. Otherwise its going to sit. Bet you don't need it.

Jonathan McCullough
03-18-2010, 1:39 PM
Yeah. I like them. They're useful. Moreover they're fun. If you don't like it, there's always a market for them.

Rob Young
03-18-2010, 1:59 PM

Yes, they are made by Stanley. I had one collector mention to me he has seen Monkey-Ward planes where you could see how identifying Stanley stampings were ground away.