PDA

View Full Version : How would you build this?

Tullie Templet
03-18-2010, 12:25 AM
I want to build this table for our house and I was wondering what is the best way. I would like to do plywood with all the corners mitered with corner locking router bit (could I even do this?), solid wood with all corners mitered or plywood box then veneer. I am thinking the veneer would be easiest. I am thinking 3 different boxes (top and two legs)and then attack them together is the way to go. Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question but I am in the learning phase. Thanks !!! http://www.westelm.com/products/p015/http://www.westelm.com/products/p015/

Lee Ludden
03-18-2010, 12:34 AM
Build a frame. Attach plywood to the faces of the frame with mitered corners. Repeat for each box. If you don't want visible joints, you can build the 3 frames, attach them together, and they put the facings sized to cover the entire face.

Just my $0.02 but I am kind of new at this too.

Tullie Templet
03-18-2010, 1:02 AM
I was thinking about the frame idea also. I do want the joints showing like in the picture.

Jamie Buxton
03-18-2010, 1:03 AM
I've looked pretty carefully at the pics. I think they built it in the following way. They built it as three boxes, and fastened the boxes together to form the table. They used something like 3/4" hardwood-veneered plywood. To make one box, they mitered all four edges of each piece of plywood, and then glued the pieces together. Then they used something like a router with an edge guide to cut a 1/4"x1/4" rabbet along all the edges. Then they made strips of hardwood slightly larger than 1/4"x1/4" in cross section, and glued them into rabbets. Then they planed (or scraped, or sanded) the strips down flush to the veneer surfaces. The result is a box whose faces are mostly veneer, but the edges of the box are solid lumber, so they much better take the dings that happen in real life.

Tullie Templet
03-18-2010, 1:53 AM