PDA

View Full Version : New vs Used

John M Wilson
03-15-2010, 9:00 PM
I'm a newbie woodworker stocking the shop. I've got the TS, router, Miter saw, air nailer, etc. but I've got a long way to go, & I'm not sure of the right path. As I go thru researching each tool, I've begun to question whether, for certain things, it is better to buy new, or scour ebay & CL looking for used. This is where I could use the voice(s) of experience... are there things which you would never buy used (router bits?) or things which you would always buy used (clamps)? Any advice is much appreciated!

Darnell Hagen
03-15-2010, 9:06 PM
I buy used machinery and hand tools, but not hand held power tools. I feel they're kind of disposable, often abused, and mostly unrepairable.

Steve Kohn
03-15-2010, 9:28 PM
I try to buy all my stationary tools as used from Craigslist and Ebay. I buy locally on CL and Ebay so I can look at/run the machine when I pick it up. If I cannot find the stationary tool via CL or Ebay I will buy new, and usually from Grizzly.

All my hand held power tools are usually bought as "reconditioned" from a reputable online dealer. And here I buy well known brands like Milwaukee and Makita.

Myk Rian
03-15-2010, 9:35 PM
I started my shop with a new table saw, drill press, spindle sander, routers and planer. Only because I had the cash in my pocket, and prices were good at the time.
Most everything else, band saws, jointers, etc. were CL or garage sale buys.

Glen Butler
03-15-2010, 10:50 PM
I have a few used tools. But I was very cautious and took all my measuring devices to check for alignment problems or abuse. Sometimes I feel like buying used isn't worth the headache but you can save a lot of money. I feel like most people ask way to much for small power tools, because they are so disposable, I typically don't bother with them, just the big stuff.

Karl Brogger
03-15-2010, 10:53 PM