PDA

View Full Version : waterlox over veneer with contact cement

Zach England
03-14-2010, 10:51 AM
I have done a desktop with neoprene-based contact cement adhering oak paper-backed veneer to MDF. I know many consider this an inferior method, but I have had good luck with it for years, so without getting into the merits of various ways to adhere veneer I'd like to know if I should be wary putting waterlox on this piece. I read somewhere, but cannot find where, that certain top coats can dissolve contact cement. I've never used waterlox before, but want to try it for this project. Will this be a problem?

Thanks, as always.

Jamie Buxton
03-14-2010, 12:00 PM
Got any leftover veneer? Got more cement? Make a test piece. That will give you a more definitive answer than some random guy on the web.

Doug Hobkirk
03-14-2010, 2:34 PM
Got any leftover veneer? Got more cement? Make a test piece. That will give you a more definitive answer than some random guy on the web.
BRILLIANT! ....but surely we aren't random guys on the web...surely we are special, aren't we?

Zach England
03-14-2010, 3:02 PM
I ask this because I recall reading that certain top coats can react with and degrade contact cement over time, resulting in eventual de-lamination. Unfortunately, I cannot recall which kinds nor where I read it.

I was hoping someone would know and be kind enough to impart this advice to save me some time and effort. While doing a test piece is not a bad idea, it does not tell me anything about the long-term viability of the method.

Tony Bilello
03-14-2010, 4:31 PM
I ask this because I recall reading that certain top coats can react with and degrade contact cement over time, resulting in eventual de-lamination. Unfortunately, I cannot recall which kinds nor where I read it.