PDA

View Full Version : Glue Applicators - What do you REALLY use?

Archie Hendrick
03-13-2010, 6:01 PM
As a nascent woodworker I've read a lot about the importance of applying the proper amount of glue in different applications. However, I haven't seen much discussion about the various devices for applying the glue. I see so many products for sale in catalogs that I'm wary of how many are just gimmicks. I'd appreciate hearing from experienced folks about what you really use to apply and spread glue: Special brushes? Disposable brushes? Rollers? Commercial bottle kits with mutiple tips? Pieces of bandsaw blades (like a serrated trowel)? Fingers?

So, what do you use to apply glue for:

Glueing edges of boards for panel glue-ups?

Glueing faces to laminate boards?

Mortise and tenon joints? Dovetails?

Etc...

Thanks for any recommendations.

Archie

Myk Rian
03-13-2010, 6:03 PM
I blop it out of the bottle and spread it with a small acid brush.

Jim McFarland
03-13-2010, 6:19 PM

+1

But I use one of these when I have a really large area to cover:

http://www.mcfeelys.com/product/PGB-7329/Pro-Glue-Dispenser

doug faist
03-13-2010, 6:20 PM
Acid brushes in places I can't reach and good old fingers when I can.

Doug

Billy Trinh
03-13-2010, 6:23 PM
thin wood scrapes

Ken Whitney
03-13-2010, 6:25 PM
Silicone kitchen spatulas, from the dollar store.

Ken

Brian W Evans
03-13-2010, 6:25 PM
+1

But I use one of these when I have a really large area to cover:

http://www.mcfeelys.com/product/PGB-7329/Pro-Glue-Dispenser

Jim,

I got one of those for Christmas and haven't used it yet. How do you clean it?

Philip Johnson
03-13-2010, 6:33 PM
I picked up one of these bottles with a roller at Rockler for 10 bucks between that and a finger seems to get the nob done. Once the glue dries you can squeez the roller enough to break the glue and peel it off.

Phil

Mike Henderson
03-13-2010, 6:44 PM
You mean there's something other than fingers?

Mike

Dave Lehnert
03-13-2010, 7:07 PM