PDA

View Full Version : Finally pulled the trigger on G0690...

Milind Patil
03-12-2010, 4:50 PM
Finally today I placed order for G0690. This honor really should have gone to G0661 contractor saw, but it is not available for delivery for more than a month (possibly two) ! So shifted my focus on G0690. The price difference between G0661 and G0690 is huge, a whopping $450 :mad: (if you include freight). But for that additional money I guess I am buying the following features.

1) A true cabinet saw that is twice heavier (which should translate into more stability. Not to mention, all the benefits of cabinet saw) :)
2) A whole additional horsepower; that is 50% more power (although I don't know why would I need that since I am a hobby woodworker and not a professional one :()
3) A far better fence, which some have claimed to be better than Biesemeyer (I can not verify that since never used a Biesemeyer :confused:)
4) (Hopefully) better dust collection with 4" dust port :rolleyes:

I requested liftgate service for additional $30. I will probably pay another $30-$50 to the driver if he is willing to roll it in to my garage (or else I will have to make some other arrangement. Being barely 150 lb myself, there is no chance in hell I can move this beast even 1/8th of an inch !)

Will post rest of the experience when it begins (most likely next Friday or following Monday). At the moment I am busy 220V-fying my garage. Doing it myself.

More later...

Dan Friedrichs
03-12-2010, 5:12 PM
You made a good choice - once you get that saw running, you'll never regret the extra $450. And if you ever decide to sell it, it will retain its value much better than the contractor one would have.

Mikail Khan
03-12-2010, 6:40 PM
Congrats on the new saw.

You won't be disappointed.

MK

Stan Mitchell
03-12-2010, 6:49 PM