PDA

View Full Version : Sanity Check Needed - PCS Opportunity Cost

Dave Sepucha
03-12-2010, 1:04 PM
I'm happily in the position where my wife is all for me getting the PCS with the 36 inch rails. I'd want to get the mobile base w/ 4 swiveling casters, dado cartridge, and extra inserts, let's just call it $3,400 before taxes and delivery.

Some background: I'm a newbie with a small shop and quite a bit of things on my shopping list. I've got the little ridgid portable contractor saw which I've been surprisingly impressed with but obviously has its limitations. I'm actually getting good dust collection with it now after some simple mods. I've also got a Festool TS55 which I love. I've been very impressed with the accuracy of the bevel and miters I've been able to create with it, but I REALLY see the benefit of using a MFT which I don't own. I'd like to upgrade my router table and get another router to use as a hand-held.

So... considering the PCS purchase got me thinking about what else I could do with the money. Here's a representative list of the sort of thing I've been considering:

Dewalt DW735 Planer $560.00
Planer Extension Tables $50.00
Ridgid R2930 Router Combo $290.00
Festool MFT/3 $575.00
Festool PS 300 Jigsaw $310.00
Festool Jig Saw Blades $20.00
Festool Guide Rail Kit $179.00
Festool TS55 Blades $100.00
Oneida Dust Deputy $100.00
Incra 24x36 Tabletop $209.00
Incra 17” LS Positioner $309.00
Incra Miter Express Combo $295.00

Total Cost: $2997.00

Now I'm not trying for a tablesaw-less shop, I'm just wondering if it makes more sense for me to put my money elsewhere at this point. Of course I could also get a cheaper table saw and go for the best of both worlds, but I'm thinking I'm sold on the PCS for when I do decide to pull the trigger on a new saw.

I feel like I'm on the right track in postponing the new TS. Am I missing something obvious?

mark kosse
03-12-2010, 1:23 PM
My opinion? Your going in the right direction by not buying the saw.