PDA

View Full Version : delta dc380 or grizzly 15" planer with spiral head

Michael Schwartz
03-12-2010, 1:55 AM
My plan is to replace my DW735 shortly with a more industrial machine.

I may have an opportunity to buy a used DC380 from a trusted source.

by itself its a good deal but eventually I would like to upgrade it to a Byrd head which would bring the total cost above that of a new 15" planer from grizzly with spiral head.

I have worked quite extensively with the delta 15" planers in a few different shops, one with byrd head and I like them, but I have no experience with the grizzly. My question more or less is which is the better machine, or is there really any difference. Seems like by the time I would upgrade the Delta the grizzly might be a better choice if its of equal quality.

Cary Falk
03-12-2010, 10:06 AM
If I have my planers right the DC380 is the newer Delta 15". It's not old American iron. I would probably say they are about the same in quality. I have been looking at ok deals on CL for straight knife planers, but like you I realize that they are not going to be any cheaper once I put a spiral head on it. I would save some money and some time installing a head and get the G0453z. It's on my short list also.

Jim Riseborough
03-12-2010, 10:15 AM
I have the G0453 with post installed Shelix head. Its perfect for what I do, still havent worked out all the snipe, but cuts perfect. Even ran a end grain cutting board thru it, and was happy with those results.

Ron Bontz
03-12-2010, 12:35 PM