PDA

View Full Version : Greetings, and Help!

Tom De Girolamo
03-10-2010, 11:28 AM
Greetings to All on the Laser Forum

I have been lurking around this site for about a year. The information and knowledge on this site is invaluable. It has helped me by opening my eyes to the endless possibilities and uses for the laser. Thank you all, and special thanks to Frank Corker, whose graphics files I have shamelessly downloaded.
I’m lucky. I’m a laser hobbyist. I don’t have to make a living with my laser, so I’m free to try things that don’t have to pay for themselves. (Needless to say, many things that did not pay for themselves.) I have been successful selling engraved roses at flea markets, but that is about it.
The reason I’m posting now is I’m having a major problem with my laser. I have a pending order for engraved roses for a wedding in July. I can’t commit to the order until I solve this problem.

Problem-
The laser does not get the graphic from the computer and the “document failed to print” message comes up.
The problem started about 3 years ago but was solved by turning the laser off and then on. Over the years the problem has gotten progressively worse. The laser sometimes works, but most time doesn’t. It takes many restarts to finally get the laser to accept the graphic, if at all. As an example, last week, I turned it on and it worked perfectly and I cut out parts for a puzzle box. Two days ago, after eight tries to get it to accept a graphic, I gave up.

Laser Specs
ULS M-300 35 Watt with Rotary
About 10 years old 1 Owner(me) Very light use (about 500 hours)
All original equipment, I did not replace any parts
Driver Version ULS 2004-06-25 WIN XP/2000 V1.07

The only change in operation I have seen is that the laser sometimes (most times) now takes about 3 times as long to say “READY” as it did before the problem developed. It still sometimes goes “READY” in the normal amount of time, but … sometimes it works, sometime it doesn’t.