PDA

View Full Version : Corel, Adobe, Laser Master...?

James Terry
03-08-2010, 4:36 PM
Howdy folks. I am a first-time / newbie owner of a second-hand Pinnacle 25 watt laser commonly sold by signwarehouse to the sign shops. It is a Laserpro Mercury L-25 which I understand to be the Mercury I version of things based upon the keypad layout. I have done multi-layered wood laser projects through a vendor and am familiar with what is required as far as layout and data into the machine, but I have a lot of reading to do to gather up what I need for general operation of the laser. This unit seems to have very low hours and has the usual basics included as well as the rotary. This weekend I dragged this in a uhaul trailer from Virginia back to Texas and that roundtrip was some long hours of nonstop driving. I got lucky in that the previous owner still had the original crate, so it rode home on top of the shipping foam, in a sprung trailer with loose straps to keep it from moving too much while still allowing for some bounce movement. I am going to be very careful when I finally get this thing turned on to make sure that the beam is still aligned; another post for later. I also need to clean the optical path before I brave a power on. My first question to the group is: What is the software to be using with this thing? It came with Laser Master v2 and a key dongle for it. I think it got an upgrade to LM v8.5 as I have a cd for that. I see that many of you folks use Corel as a standard which is great to be able to share files. And I dont know that I have seen anyone using Adobe products. So what's the jiist here with software? What are my options and why? Also, as far as input to the machine, these only have serial and parallel. Would this be able to work off of a parallel print server device so that I can network it and use wifi for communication? Or does it actually do a bi-directional kind of thing such that it really needs a direct connection? It pretty much looks like a