PDA

View Full Version : wiring new shop

Jaromir Svoboda
03-06-2010, 8:11 PM
Hi,new member here.
I like to build new shop this spring.I was wondering how much it will cost me to do all wiring inside shop.I dont know anything about wiring so I will have to pay someone to do it.I did talk with two electricins and they want around $8000.
Shop will be 30x34 with 10' ceiling.
I like to have 200AMP panel,8 or 10 220v outlets,15 110v outlets,12 lights,2 ceiling fans,el.heater,1 exterior light.
Can I get ballpark price for material and labor.
Thanks in advance.
Jaromir

Neil Davie
03-06-2010, 8:32 PM
I don't want to discourage electricians earning a good living, but 8K is too much. I am an electrical engineer, and have wired numerous shops, houses and commercial buildings over the years. The cost of materials, depending on the run of the service wiring to the panel, should be $500 or so, or less in all my cases. Electricians , at least if my son-in-law (a journeyman electrician, is concerned earn about $25 an hour or so
perhaps 2-3 times as much if a business adds their overhead.) The job is not really that difficult, and many of the posters on this site have given good advice. You should consider doing it yourself, or looking further for good bids on the job.

Neil Davie
03-06-2010, 8:57 PM
Not to belabor my response, but I question the need for 200 amp service, which adds to the cost. You didn't say where you are at, but there are many alternatives to just simple electrical heat, perhaps the reason for the 200 amp service. I have used heat pumps and other sources of heat that don't require as much current. Depending on the number of tools you plan on using at once, you don't need to account for all of them operating at once.

Skip Camejo
03-06-2010, 9:05 PM