PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question: Vase Turning

Scott Hussey
03-03-2010, 11:45 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to turning and to this forum(love it by the way) and have made a couple of bowls and am working on a small vase.

The vase is only about 7" tall by about 3.5" in diameter.

I have roughed out the outside and cut a tenon to mount on my grizzly chuck. I have mounted it and have begun turning the inside.

My problem is that is continues to come loose in the chuck as I am taking wood off the inside. I've had to tighten it several times.

I'm looking for some advice from you experienced folks on technique for mounting a vase to hollow out the inside.

I have to be doing something wrong.
Any help/advice would be great.

Thanks,

Scott

ryan kelley
03-04-2010, 12:00 AM
Scott, make sure the shape of your tenon matches the shape of your chuck jaws. also the end of your tenon should not be touching your chuck.

Eric Kosanovich
03-04-2010, 12:13 AM
Some one had pointed me to this pic. maybe it will help you.
Ops it's a pdf file anyway i hope it helps.

alex carey
03-04-2010, 1:16 AM
agreed, the tenon probably doesn't fit right. Nice diagram, should do the trick.

charlie knighton
03-04-2010, 4:18 AM
i use a steady and this is how i normally chuck it, scroll down to the pictures in this thread

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=132623

the pros will have a much larger portion of wood left above the chuck til the very end, for safety keep as much wood on the form close to the chuck as possible

Brian Novotny
03-04-2010, 4:30 AM