PDA

View Full Version : Angle for dovetails

Dan Gill
11-01-2004, 9:50 AM
Okay, I'm ready to start playing with hand cut dovetails. I know the traditional 1:8 ratio for hardwoods. My question is - what angle is that? You can tell I'm a complete newbie at this.

Bob Smalser
11-01-2004, 10:05 AM
Draw a 1:8 slope on graph paper...or better yet, a dovetail gage profile so you can see it.

Drawing layout problems to scale then taking angles from them is an important technique.

You can even make yourself a set of 1:6 and 1:8 dovetail squares by cementing that graph paper drawing to sheet brass and sawing/filing them out.

I make them the width of my TS slots so I can use them as a dead-square gluing jig:

http://pic3.picturetrail.com/VOL12/1104763/2594266/68779301.jpg

(Note the engraving on the back of that scrap brass. ;) )

Dan Gill
11-01-2004, 10:14 AM
Bob, you're a good teacher. You don't give me the answer, you tell me how to find it on my own.

This leads to another question, though: Why do we speak of this as a 1:8 ratio instead of just an angle? There has to be a reason that goes back to the Dawn of Woodworking Time. That's just my natural curiosity coming out.

Marc Hills
11-01-2004, 10:48 AM
This leads to another question, though: Why do we speak of this as a 1:8 ratio instead of just an angle?

Basically, because when that convention was established, a carpenter or cabinet maker was unlikely to own or use a protractor. Even an accurate rule was often a precious and rare commodity.

The journey man woodworker probably never knew what the dovetail angles were in terms of degrees of arc, nor would he have cared.

If you know a dovetail angle in terms of a ratio, then you can accurately set your bevel gauge to the correct angle without being dependent on any measuring device.