PDA

View Full Version : Single board or glued up panel for table top

Jack Norfleet
02-27-2010, 11:48 PM
I have a 4/4 cherry board that is 18" by 60". My intention has always been to use it for the top of a hall table. Now, I am worried about the stability of a single board vs a glued up panel.

I would appreciate any experiences or guidance.

Danny Hamsley
02-28-2010, 12:15 AM
I am by no means an expert. However, most wide boards, unless perfectly quartersawn, have growth rings when observed on the cross-section that move from flat sawn to rift sawn to quartersawn. That is to say that the orientation of the growth rings in the board changes as you go across its width. If the board is flat and perfectly dry, and the board will not be used in an environment with wildly changing moisture environments, it will be ok because a board only cups or warps when the moisture content is changing and not stable. However, very wide boards are prone to cup because when the moisture content is not stable, the varying growth ring orientation can lead to stresses because wood shrinks and swells more on the flatsawn face than the quartersawn face.

If you get it to the perfect moisture content and it is flat, and if you design in a good system for letting the board expand and contract in use across its width, I bet it will be a beautiful table top. The risk is if the board is not stable to the in-use environment.

Alex Shanku
02-28-2010, 9:17 AM
I love the look of single wide boards.

If you are worried that your board may cup, etc, build some form of bracing into your design ie battens or breadboards.

Van Huskey
02-28-2010, 9:34 AM
I love the look of single wide boards.

If you are worried that your board may cup, etc, build some form of bracing into your design ie battens or breadboards.

That is exactly what I was going to say.

Stephen Edwards
02-28-2010, 9:59 AM