PDA

View Full Version : Which Wood Would You Use?

joseph j shields
02-20-2010, 7:04 PM
I'm building a couple of blanket chests for 2 charity auctions and need your help....PLEASE:D:D:D:D

I usually use cherry, maple & walnut (never used oak before :eek:). But with the economy the way it is, I have to economize and I have some free quarter-sawn white oak... so I plan on using it to make the chest below. I will use oak for the frame and top. I plan on using a contrasting wood for the panels (solid or veneer)

MY question to you is..... what wood would you use for the contrasting panels:confused::confused::confused::confused:

Like I said, I have never used oak before... so any finishing/working/staining tips would be appreciated as well....

Thanks!!!

-jj shields

http://www.woodcraft.com/Images/products/830738.jpg?rand=272541440

FYI... I'm considering running the panel grains horizontally like the picture below:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/images/B00286QZBW/ref=dp_image_0?ie=UTF8&n=283155&s=books

Aaron Hastings
02-20-2010, 7:10 PM
Depends what you want the look to be.

Personally, using QSWO for the frame, I'd go with a tight grain like maple for the panels. That should keep it within budget. Either one of those woods can be dyed or stained easily to get the color combo you want.

joseph j shields
02-20-2010, 7:16 PM
Depends what you want the look to be.

Personally, using QSWO for the frame, I'd go with a tight grain like maple for the panels. That should keep it within budget. Either one of those woods can be dyed or stained easily to get the color combo you want.

Aaron,

Thanks! I have some unbelievable (very white) birds-eye maple veneer (14" wide and 8ft long :eek: with lots of quilting) ... your thoughts??

-jj

David Christopher
02-20-2010, 7:30 PM
personally I dont think oak and maple go together well

if you want contrast, why not stain part of it and leave the other natural...then finishing will be uniform

Joe Kieve
02-20-2010, 7:46 PM