PDA

View Full Version : 18" belt sander or 24" drum sander?

Bryan Berguson
02-19-2010, 10:23 PM
Is the belt sander worth the extra money? I want to: 1. rough sand planer marks out of boards. 2. thickness sand hard to plane woods like maple and hickory. Which sander would I be happiest with?

Thanks

Bryan

Bruce Page
02-19-2010, 10:46 PM
Bryan, I have no experience with a wide belt sander but my 26” Woodmaster DS does an excellent job at what you describe as needing.

Simon Dupay
02-19-2010, 10:58 PM
Wide belt can take off more each pass and will leave you with a better finish also has easier belt changes.

Chip Lindley
02-20-2010, 12:08 AM
If your electrical panel can afford the power requirements of a wide belt sander, they are good stuff! But, most are 3-phase. Wide belt sanders can still burn wood if too deep a cut is taken. They are not fool-proof.

Drum sanders are more economical for a small shop; they cost less. Drums give good results, but require changing paper more often than wide belts. Don't get in any hurry with drum sanders. I've used a Grizzly 1066 24" for three years and it met my needs. Now replaced by a gloat Woodmaster 3820 double drum. That's one WOW machine!

Matt Meiser
02-20-2010, 9:38 AM
A friend of mine has a 36 or 38" drum sander and a 15" widebelt. I took all my kitchen doors up and ran them on the drum then the ones I could on the widebelt. The drum did a good job of cleaning up any joint misalignment but left a rough finish that required ROS sanding with a full schedule of grits. The widebelt ones were ready for a final ROS sand with 180 grit and easing the edges.

Dino Drosas
02-20-2010, 10:19 AM