PDA

View Full Version : leaded acrylic

James Rambo
02-17-2010, 7:18 PM
I have a piece of leaded acrylic approximately 24 inch X 30 inch X 12 mm thick. It has a label stating "Equivalent to .5 mm lead". Is this something not to try cutting with my laser? What is it good for? I work in a hospital and we throw away sooooo much stuff. This was part of a portable lead radiology sheild. Yes I also have the lead from the rest of the wall.( Diving weights for my weekend gold mining escapades).

Joe Pelonio
02-17-2010, 9:20 PM
Whether it will cut I can't say, but if you try it, do use respiratory protection because that kind of heat will produce lead fumes that won't be good for you.

Daniel Reetz
02-18-2010, 3:50 PM
I would strongly advise against cutting leaded acrylic using a laser. Provided your laser is powerful enough to overcome the 30% embedded lead:

(
Our leaded acrylic sheets are unique, lead-infused, transparent, plastic sheets that contain 30% lead by weight. Leaded acrylic is transparent with a very light brown tint, and the physical properties of the acrylic sheets are similar to those of conventional acrylic resins. (http://www.nelco-usa.com/leaded_glass.php))

You would have a serious fume problem with the lead becoming laser ejecta. It would probably be fine to cut on a tablesaw or other non-fume-generating method.

James Rambo
02-18-2010, 6:52 PM
Well I HAD to TRY it. My 60 watts at 100% power 3% speed did not get half way throught it. I only tried a corner to see what would happen, with my hand on the door handle to stop the beam just in case ..... Thanks Jaime
P.S. I have a good exhaust. Only 2 foot to the outside wall and no neighbors.

Bill Cunningham
02-18-2010, 11:35 PM
Yes I also have the lead from the rest of the wall.( Diving weights for my weekend gold mining escapades).