PDA

View Full Version : router maintenance---oxidation--silicon???

tom coleman
02-17-2010, 1:31 AM
I am a Florida resident. Read hot and humidity even though this winter has not been balmy. Went out to my garage shop for first time in months. My PC 690 and 890 were both frozen in their bases. I could not raise or lower bits nor could I remove the motors from their bases.

I drove 25 miles to Woodcraft in Sarasota. Kim, store manager, freed both routers in minutes aided by properly directed blow with a rubber mallet to free a stubborn wedge. He suggested that I remove the router from the base after use, use compressor to blow away saw dust, occasionally sand rough spots gently w 320 grit and occassionally use a non greasy lubricant like silicon.

What do you heavy router users do?

how do you spell occassionally........looks like I have too many of at least one letter

Norman Pyles
02-17-2010, 1:58 AM
I keep my shop climate controlled, with heat and air. But it is part of the house, and pretty small. When it is not too hot and humid, I do open the windows and run a window fan.

Steven Green
02-17-2010, 3:01 AM
I use graphite or silicon. I found if I take the router out of the base, and get rid of the fine dust it pretty well keeps me out of trouble. I also use white grease in the chuck.

Curt Harms
02-17-2010, 3:15 AM
That or one of the "teflon" sprays? I thought silicone and wood were anathema due to silicone causing "fish eye" in finishes.

Mark Major
02-17-2010, 7:52 AM
Hi guys...my very first post here so just want to say I'm glad I found this place...great bunch of people! :) Any way. I've used Slip-IT for quite awhile for things like this; it's even used in the food industry for lubing equipment...totally safe on wood and finishes. Pretty sure Grizzly sells it. I'm in Canada and get it from Busy Bee, the other brother's empire. :)

Myk Rian
02-17-2010, 8:20 AM
First off, I would have loosened the clamping tension screw a bit, then loosened the routers.