PDA

View Full Version : A rookie question, embarrassed to ask

doug king
02-15-2010, 12:57 AM
Okay so I have been working and learning for a few months now... Where are a few places where I can purchase plastic name plates or plastic shapes to engrave on. I am looking for plastic for signage.

Doug

Mike Null
02-15-2010, 6:06 AM
You have a very good company in Oklahoma called Bur-Lane. You can also find plastics at Johnson Plastics and JDS Industries.

Jerry Hewett
02-15-2010, 6:07 AM
http://www.johnsonplastics.biz/CGI-BIN/LANSAWEB?PROCFUN+WORDPR01+WEBFUNC+M37

Jason Roehl
02-15-2010, 8:21 AM
Just for the record, on SMC there are no rookie questions that you should be embarrassed to ask. These forums are for people of ALL skill levels, and since very few learn any task in a consistent, linear manner, even those who are more skilled and experienced learn new techniques or sources from someone with far less skill or experience from time to time.

Martin Boekers
02-15-2010, 1:29 PM
Doug,

Here are a couple links to check out. They will will help to provide some basic info on suppliers.

Now is the time to start your "bookmark system" to make it easier on researching products in the future.

www.engraversjournal.com/links.php
www.epiloglaser.com/industry_links.htm
www.ulsinc.com/english/laser_materials/laser_suppliers.html

They are many vendors out their and many manufacture their own
product line. So it's good to have bookmarks, notes and a journal.

One thing that I found immensely helpful was to start at the 1st post in this forum and work your way up to the present.

I have done this as many others, this is a great forum, if you use it!

Good luck with your business!

Marty

doug king
02-15-2010, 3:37 PM
I think my problem is that I am so new to some of this that even with the links I dont know which material to purchase...

That make sense?

Scott Shepherd
02-15-2010, 3:43 PM