PDA

View Full Version : How about the speed parameter?

Rikard Strand
02-13-2010, 3:27 PM
I'm new to laser cutting.

Today i experimented with the speed parameter. I notice that the cut was better with lower speed but the cutting time was almost the same in the intervall about 5-100%. When i lowered the speed under 5% i notice a bigger differens in time.

Can anybody explain this?

The power i used was between 15-25%.

Rikard
- - -
Mercury LaserPro 30w, 2.0 lens.

Viktor Voroncov
02-13-2010, 4:00 PM
Which material you are trying to cut? I just cut 1,5 mm Rowmark with Mercury 40 Wt and settings were Speed 1,6% Power 100%

Rikard Strand
02-13-2010, 5:04 PM
Now trouble cutting. Just trying too understand the speed parameter. I thought it should be a "big" difference in speed. With the naked eye it looks almost the same between 5-100%. But i understand by looking at the cutting that it's a big difference.

Richard Rumancik
02-14-2010, 12:17 AM
I notice that the cut was better with lower speed but the cutting time was almost the same in the intervall about 5-100%. When i lowered the speed under 5% i notice a bigger differens in time.

Rickard - your post jogged my memory so I searched and found this old post of mine.
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=60072

Briefly, on the Mercury, what I found that the 42 ips specified as "maximum speed" applies to rastering only. For vectoring, you will probably get only about 11 or 12 ips. This occurs at around 30% setting. Going above 30% will probably not have any real effect on speed (job time). It is rather misleading that the driver lets you set a parameter that is actually "out of range". If it defaulted back to 30% for inputs above 30%, then at least you would know what was happening. You should see a change in job time below 30%; at least I did.