PDA

View Full Version : Air brush tips ????

Randy Digby
02-12-2010, 11:18 PM
I have an anodized aluminum product that is close to 200 sq. in. that I will be using CerMark LMM6000 to mark various text, lines, and etc. The aerosol application works well but I'm having to paint a lot of area that will not be marked. I figure that if I convert to air brush application I can cut the CerMark usage by 40% to 50%. I have never used an air brush but understand the process. I am not an artistic person but am mechanical minded. I already have an air compressor so the initial purchase cost of equipment should not be that high.

What I am interested from the Creek are tips in the application of CerMark by air brush such as:
Tips for mixing correct ratio.
Can I leave the mixture in the air brush spray bottle?
Do you stir or shake to mix?
If the base material dries up, can it be made usable again by adding DNA?

Along with the other tips I need but don't know that I need them!

Thanks for you time.

Dan Hintz
02-12-2010, 11:24 PM
I use about a 10:1 ratio, so very dilute. There's no issue with leaving the mixture in the spray bottle during use, but you won't want to store that way as the DNA will evaporate. You can give it a good shake to remix after it has been sitting for 5-10 minutes, but if it has been there for a few hours you may need to stir. No problem with re-wetting dried Cermark.

Niklas Bjornestal
02-13-2010, 4:18 AM
Why are you using cermark on anodized aluminium, cant you just engrave it as it is? And does cermark work on the anodized aluminium?

Mike Null
02-13-2010, 5:40 AM
I would buy a single action Paasche airbrush. I got mine for about $15 at a hobby store. I've also used HF air brushes but the Paasche is superior.

Just practice for a minute or two with water in the glass and you'll get the hang of it.

Randy Digby
02-13-2010, 9:18 AM
I use CerMark on clear anodized aluminum to get a black mark and, yes, I have very good results with it on anodized aluminum.