PDA

View Full Version : Microbubbles in Waterlox

Matt Roth
02-10-2010, 9:16 PM
This is my first try with Waterlox, I'm finishing a culry walnut/curly maple kitchen table lazy susan. I have a applied three coats of Danish Oil, and let them dry for a couple weeks. Yesterday, I used a rag to apply a coat of Waterlox. It went on even, but I immediatly noticed lots of small bubbles in the finish. I thought they might go away as it dryed; no such luck!

How do I fix this and how do I keep it from happening again?

Thanks!

Henry Ambrose
02-10-2010, 9:59 PM
Did you shake the Waterlox? If so, try again but -STIR- it.

Also, I don't think another finish under Waterlox is a great idea unless you are sure it is compatible.

Matt Roth
02-10-2010, 10:08 PM
I shook it like it was for James Bond. I'll try stirred next time! Minus the bubbles, it looks great over the Danish oil. How do I get the existing bubbles out? Do I need to sand and start over?

Scott Holmes
02-11-2010, 1:25 AM
Wipe-on should never leave bubbles, even if you put it in a paint shaker to mix it.

Wipe-on should be applied as thinly as the kid that wipes the table in the fast food joint with a damp rag...

It could be ait escaping from the pores of the wood. A seal coat of shellac would have been a good move. light sanding and a seal coat may be the ticket now may not need the seal coat of shellac now that the Waterlox has sealed the wood.

Henry Ambrose
02-11-2010, 10:18 AM
I shook it like it was for James Bond. I'll try stirred next time! Minus the bubbles, it looks great over the Danish oil. How do I get the existing bubbles out? Do I need to sand and start over?

Yes, sand it.

Howard Acheson
02-11-2010, 2:02 PM
What "Waterlox" product are you using? Waterlox is a brand name for a number of finishing products.

As said, it sounds like you are not using the proper application technique when wiping on your finish. The wipe-on technique was developed to virtually eliminate the possibility of bubbles.