PDA

View Full Version : Snow on flat roof - when to worry?

Dean Karavite
02-10-2010, 10:20 AM
Hi All,

Here in Philly me and most of our neighbors have either total or partial flat roofs. Now that we are looking at up to an additional 2 feet of snow on the 28" we got last Saturday, I have been thinking about these roofs. The houses are old and all have beefy old 2x10 fir joists, but I'm no engineer or roof expert. What do you think? I actually can access our roof via a hatch that makes things easy, but my wife isn't thrilled about me going up there.

Thanks in advance!

Rob Russell
02-10-2010, 10:42 AM
3+ feet of snow would be enough to be me up there, especially if it's a flat roof.

Dave Johnson29
02-10-2010, 10:52 AM
What do you think?

If your house was built to Code, check with the local County Zoning department for the Snow Load. That will give you a depth figure that your roof should have been built to support.

Not much help I know, but at least a guide to what should be safe and acceptable. Go up there and measure to see where you are in the scheme of things. You wife will be happier at you getting some College kids in for 10-bucks and hour to shovel snow off.

Bill Rogers
02-10-2010, 12:04 PM
Keep in mind that 1/2" of standing water over a 10' x 10' area weighs 500 pounds, or so I have been told.

Also from wikianswers.com: Ken Hellevang from the University of North Dakota says, "The weight of snow varies greatly. Light fluffy snow may only weigh about seven pounds per cubic foot. More average snow may weigh 15 pounds per cubic foot and drifted compacted snow may weigh 20 pounds or more..."
Source: http://www.ag.ndsu.nodak.edu/coping/snowload.htm

Based on the figures given above your snow accumulation of 52" could be adding anywhere from 30 pounds to 87 pounds per square foot of roof area.

David G Baker
02-10-2010, 12:21 PM
Dean,