PDA

View Full Version : Recommend me a miter saw! (opinions on Milwaukee 6955-20?)

Valentine Azbelle
02-09-2010, 11:21 PM
I am new to both this forum and woodworking. I need to cut a bunch (like thousands) of 2x2 blocks of various lengths (from 1" to 12"). At first I thought I'd buy some 2x2's and cut them with a friends DeWalt. To my utter disappointment it turned out that the 2x2's are not only crooked (which I expected to a degree) but also not exactly square. So I decided to buy my own mider saw and cut more or less perfectly straight and square blocks out of 4"x6"x12" pieces of lumber (or whatever 4" lumber I can find cheap). I'd like some opinions on what would be good for this kind of thing. I need the ability to cut 4" vertically, 12" across, and the cuts need to be precise 90 degrees (the texture isn't as important but smooth would be nice of course).

I have read a bunch of reviews and so far settled on Milwaukee 6955-20 12" slider. Anybody has any input on my choice? Suggestions? Tips? Thanks.

Van Huskey
02-09-2010, 11:28 PM
I have the Milwaukee picked it up during the HD $299 clearance and it is a solid saw. For full price I would consider the Bosch as well and if you have the cash the Festool Kapex would be even better. I am very happy with the Milwaukee and it has proven to be about as accurate as you would expect a 12" slider to be.

Valentine Azbelle
02-09-2010, 11:42 PM
I have the Milwaukee picked it up during the HD $299 clearance and it is a solid saw. For full price I would consider the Bosch as well and if you have the cash the Festool Kapex would be even better. I am very happy with the Milwaukee and it has proven to be about as accurate as you would expect a 12" slider to be.