PDA

View Full Version : new fuji gun, gravity or siphon feed?

Chris Friesen
02-08-2010, 2:17 PM
I'm a novice at spray finishing. I'm thinking about buying a Fuji spray system, but I thought I'd get some opinions on which gun to get. I anticipate using it mostly for furniture projects (tables, bookcases, chests of drawers, etc.). This will NOT be for production use...I have a young child so my project time is severely limited.

Their two choices are siphon (http://www.fujispray.com/hvlp_components.html) or gravity (http://www.fujispray.com/parts_accessories.htm#gtx_spraygun).

Both are pressure assisted. The gravity cup is 400ml, the siphon is 1000ml.

I like the simplicity and ease of cleaning of the gravity feed. I think that the cup should be big enough for most things I'd spray, but I would welcome comments from those more experienced than me.

chris dub
02-08-2010, 3:07 PM
I'm no expert, but in my research if I had been paying regular price or the same price, I would have gone with a gravity feed gun for the flexibility and ability to use more of the finish without leaving any in the bottom of the cup. It also is better on up and down angles. Now I wouldn't (and didn't) turn my nose up at a good deal on a siphon gun system, which most of the good deals I have seen seem to be. But that is also probably a bit telling...

Mike Goetzke
02-08-2010, 3:10 PM
I believe that gravity fed gun has a pressure cup. I personally like the top cup guns better because they get into tighter spaces easier.

Mike

Larry Fox
02-08-2010, 3:46 PM
I think that for the size projects you are talking about that the gravity one would give you good service. I would see if you can try both but I have had several syphon guns and find them pretty fatiguing for long runs and I think it is a good practice to get as much of the finish off the gun as possible. I also think that the gravity guns tend to be better balanced which should give you better control.