PDA

View Full Version : Any Wood Turning Guru's out here? I got a question?

Garrett Brumit
02-08-2010, 9:36 AM
I am just starting out on wood turning, actually haven't even started, lol
I have the Lathe before the Turning tools, sorta like the cart before the horse..:D
1 - what Turning tools do I need? ( I see deals where they sell individually or by the package, which ones do I really need?

I want to try my luck on turning pens and bowls..

I have a Delta 12 Inch lathe on a stand..

On the tools for the pen turning I see all sorts of little gadgets they sell for making them, what gadgets do I need??

Thx for you help

phil harold
02-08-2010, 10:24 AM
be carefull the spinning wood causes money to fly out of wallet...

these guys will help you spend your money

http://sawmillcreek.org/forumdisplay.php?f=20

Paul Douglass
02-08-2010, 10:48 AM
If you go to Pennstate Industries website, they have a free DVD on pen turning. It has a lot of info and the price is right. Also go to Internation Association of Penterners website. There is more info and help there than you will ever need.

And Phil is correct, get your wallet out.

Garrett Brumit
02-08-2010, 3:57 PM
Just more money for me to spend, lol

thx everyone for the info

Gary Herrmann
02-08-2010, 5:09 PM
Think about what you want to turn. Spindles, bowls, pens, hollowforms. That will guide you toward tools. Post this on the turning forum and you'll get lots of responses.

Jeff Willard
02-08-2010, 5:44 PM
Start with a good book. Turning Wood by Richard Raffin is a good place to begin. Nothing in there about pens, but spindle turning principles apply there. After that, there is an abundance of pen-specific info out there, both in print, and on the 'net.

John Grabowski
02-08-2010, 8:26 PM